Association football

European football clubs: MBi Llandudno F.C.


HotTakes.Pro profiles European football clubs: MBi Llandudno F.C.

Editor’s note: This is a series of posts profiling popular European football clubs.  These posts are predominately geared towards an American audience that may not be as familiar with the sport.  Please e-mail me at hottakespro@gmail.com and let me know about any mistakes/misrepresentations. All statistics are as of publishing date.


Name: MBi Llandudno F.C.

Nickname: The Seasiders

Founded: 1988

Grounds: Maesdu Park Capacity: 1,013

Based in: Llandudno, Conwy County Borough, Wales

Manager: Alan Morgan

League: Welsh Premier League

2016/2017 Finish: 8th place of 12; 7 wins 14 draws, 11 losses

Continental competitions: 2016/2017 UEFA Europa League 1Q (1-7 aggregate loss to IFK Göteborg)

Key players: Danny Hughes, Tom Dix, James Joyce


Llandudno F.C.’s football history can be traced through several incarnations back to the late 19th century.  The current club was formed in 1988.  It played on a small local council ground until a move to Maesdu Park in 1991.  The Seasiders won the Cymru Alliance in 2014/2015 and gained promotion to the Welsh Premier League.  During the 2016/2017 season, they qualified for European continental competition for the first time in club history.  IFK Göteborg defeated Llandudno 7-1 on the aggregate during the Europa League 1st Qualifying round.


Due to pressure from nations that questioned Wales fielding a national team in UEFA competitions, the Welsh Premier League was formed in 1992 to provide a true top-level league. Swansea City, Cardiff City, & Wrexham were the only Welsh members of the Football League at the time, and so the Welsh FA decided to allow them to remain in the English football pyramid. A bitter dispute arose between the Welsh FA & the Welsh non-Football League clubs that wished to remain: Bangor City, Barry Town, Caernarfon Town, Colwyn Bay, Merthyr Tydfil, Newport, Newtown, & Rhyl.  Most of this group of eight clubs eventually gave in and joined, but Newport County, Colwyn Bay, & Methyr Town remain in the English FA to this day.

Welsh Premier League

The current top-dog of the Welsh Premier League is The New Saints (TNS) based in Oswetry, England.  They have won the league six years in a row and eleven times total.  The champion of the league gains entry to the UEFA Champions League qualifying rounds.  The second place team and the winner of the Welsh Cup gain access to the UEFA Europa League.  3rd through 7th place compete in a playoff for a third Europa League qualifying spot.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *