Association football

European football clubs: Aldershot Town F.C.


HotTakes.Pro profiles European football clubs: Aldershot Town F.C.

Editor’s note: This is a series of posts profiling popular European football clubs.  These posts are predominately geared towards an American audience that may not be as familiar with the sport.  Please e-mail me at hottakespro@gmail.com and let me know about any mistakes/misrepresentations. All statistics are as of publishing date.

Supporters’ banners in the Recreation Ground east stand.


Name: Aldershot Town Football Club

Nickname: The Shots

Founded: 1992 (1926 as Aldershot F.C.)

Grounds: Recreation Ground Capacity: 7,100 (2,000 seated)

Manager: Gary Waddock

League: Vanarama National League

2016/2017 Finish: 5th of 24; 23 wins, 13 draws, 10 losses


This is the only crest I can find for the original Aldershot F.C.

Aldershot Town F.C. is a phoenix club founded in 1992 after Aldershot F.C. went into administration and closed.  Aldershot F.C. were the first Football League club to go defunct during a season since Accrington Stanley F.C. had in 1962.

The Shots have spent most of their history playing in the Football Conference (currently known as Vanarama National North/South & Vanarama National League).  Aldershot Town gained promotion to the Football League during the 2007/2008 season.  The club spent five seasons in League Two before financial troubles & poor performance led to relegation in 2013.


The Vanarama National League is the fifth level of the English football pyramid.  It is the highest level of non-league football, comprised of a mixture of full-time & semi-professional clubs.  There is a small television contract, but clubs are dependent on ticket sales & match day revenues and Cinderella FA Cup runs.  It is the lowest nationwide league in England.  Levels 6 competitions & below are regionally based.

Similar to the League Two, League One, & EFL Championship, the National League is made up of 24 clubs playing each other home-and-away for a 46 match season.  The league champion and the winner of a playoff between the second thru fifth placed clubs are promoted to League Two.  The bottom four clubs are relegated to & replaced by clubs from National League North & National League South.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *